Python Forum
How to do real-time audio signal processing using python
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to do real-time audio signal processing using python
Hi all, hope I am posting in the right place.

I am quite new to Python, and maybe I am bighting off more than I can chew but I am trying to make an audio filer that works in real time (low latency). i.e. sound continuously flows into the mic, is processed by my code and will flow continuously out to the speaker. (In Windows 10)

Now what I was hoping is that someone could point me to a free library (is that the right word?) that can take the sound from the mic and give me the data. I would then process it and hand it back to be sent to the speaker.

I have found libraries that would do this but unfortunately they were difficult for me to understand. I don’t need anything snazzy, just something that will give me the audio data from the mic and I will hand it back. I’ll do the rest.

I would appreciate any help.

Thanks.
PyAudio is probably the library you will want to use.
For starters, the linked video gets you through the parts you are asking about.
PyAudio streaming audio
Hi jefsummers,

Thanks for your help and sorry for the late reply.

Pyaudio seems like just what I’m looking for and thanks for the link to the tutorial too. The only problem is I’m having trouble installing it. I used:

pip install pyaudio

But I got the error:

error: Microsoft Visual C++ 14.0 is required. Get it with "Microsoft Visual C++ Build Tools": http://landinghub.visualstudio.com/visua...uild-tools

The link does not work but I read on the net that any version later then 14 should also be fine.

So I installed C++ build tools from Visual Studio Build Tools 2019. Unfortunately I still get the same error when trying to install pyaudio. Maybe it's not installed to the command line but I was having difficulty working out how to do that.

Any further help would be appreciated.