Python Forum
How to send output to stout?
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
How to send output to stout?
I'm very new to learning python, but as part of a wargames/learning challenge, may require me to brute force a PIN number password in an linux application (I don't even know if it's a 4-digit number or any characters, but that's another story)

Just trying to learn more Python as I go...

The application is run like this:

./application <4-digit code>

I found an example Python script online using "pexpect" that allows you to control other programs, so that made sense for my scenario since I want to run this specific binary so I'm working on customizing that script example.

I'm sure I have lots more coding to do but the current issue is that I just can't see what the script is doing. I know it's running because if I set a large (9999 instead of 10) it hangs so assume it's working but I'm not able to see the actual input/output on the screen.

What would I need to add in order for this to show me each login attempt and allow  me to also see the "Wrong Answer" output from the application when I enter a wrong PIN?

import pexpect as pe

p = pe.spawn('/home/leviathan6/leviathan6')

for i in range(10):
        p.send(str(i))
        p.send('\n')
        p.expect(pe.EOF)
Also, if there is something better than pexpect that I should consider in this case please let me know.

Thanks
Hey natv,

From what I can read in the docs, you should specify a logfile after spawning your leviathan6 program.

Something like
p.logchild = open('/tmp/leviathan6-log', 'w') #you could name it whatever you want
Regarding sending that program's standard output to the terminal where you're running pexpect, maybe this could work:

import sys

#Your code here including the spawn call

p.logchild = sys.stdout
I'm just talking out loud, sort of speak, here. Haven't tested any of this, but maybe this can get you going a bit further.

PS: is that from the overthewire challenges?

Cheers!