Python Forum
Twitter scraping exclude some data
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Twitter scraping exclude some data
Hello everyone! Im new here and im also new to python. Im eager to learn python because the possibilities are immense. Currently im working on a twitter streaming code, which I pasted in the code section below.
Im wondering how I should exclude data from the streamer?
1. For instance, i want to check wether the 'status' or 'location' fields are not null.
2. I would like to exclude some fields. For instance, 'retweets'.

If someone could explain how I'm supposed to program [1] en [2] then I would be very happy :)

from tweepy import Stream
from tweepy import OAuthHandler
from tweepy.streaming import StreamListener
import json

# consumer key, consumer secret, access token, access secret.
consumer_key = "xxx"
consumer_secret = "xxx"
access_token = "xxxx"
access_token_secret = "xxxx"

class StdOutlistener(StreamListener):
    def on_data(self, data):
        json_data = json.loads(data)
        print (json_data)

# Open json text file to save the tweets
        with open('tweets.json', 'a') as tf:
            tf.write(data)
        return True

def on_error(self, status):

print(status)

auth = OAuthHandler(consumer_key, consumer_secret)
auth.set_access_token(access_token, access_token_secret)

twitterStream = Stream(auth, StdOutlistener())
twitterStream.filter(track=["Test"])
Can anyone help me?
Is my question unclear>?
Are those fields part of the json response you're receiving?
(Aug-31-2017, 05:33 PM)nilamo Wrote: Are those fields part of the json response you're receiving?

Yes. The json format contains all the data that is available.