Python Forum
I can't understand this problem
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I can't understand this problem
So sorry, I'm a beginner with programming and I face something in lists confused me.
I know that when I concatenate 2 lists with (+) I create a new list.
I'm using Python 2.7

list1 = [1,2,3]
list1 = list1 + [4,5]
print list1
here I get list1 = [1,2,3,4,5]
but where I put this in a procedure I don't get the same result
list2 = [3,4,5]
def mylist(my_list):
    my_list = my_list + [6,7]
mylist(list2)
print list2
here I get list2 = [3,4,5]
Why that?
another question why I get "none" message when I try to print
print mylist(list2)
. What is the difference between calling the procedure then print it
mylist(list2)
print list2

and print directly the procedure
print mylist(list2)
The first answer is a little tricky. Lists are mutable types. One consequence of this is that if you modify a list you passed to a function, the list outside will be modified also. But you didn't modify the list. You reassigned the variable name of the parameter to a new list. The variable name exists only inside the function, and has no affect outside of it.

Note that my_list + [4, 5] is almost the same as my_list.extend([4, 5]). The difference is that the addition creates a new list you can reassign, while the second modifies the original list in place.

The second question is easier. When you print a function call, you are printing the return value of that function. Since you didn't specify a return value with a return statement, you get the default return value of None. If you had ended your function with return my_list, printing the function call would have printed the modified list.
Craig "Ichabod" O'Brien - xenomind.com
I wish you happiness.
Recommended Tutorials: BBCode, functions, classes, text adventures