Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I need help
Is it possible to get a user to type in something like Apples and it comes back with a number eg

I type apple it comes back as 6?

If so could someone help me do it thank you!
What have you tried?
If it ain't broke, I just haven't gotten to it yet.
OS: Windows 10, openSuse 42.3, freeBSD 11, Raspian "Stretch"
Python 3.6.5, IDE: PyCharm 2018 Community Edition
(Aug-15-2017, 02:50 PM)sparkz_alot Wrote: What have you tried?

I'm new to Python and had no lessons so I have tried nothing sorry :(
HI,

Yes, it is fairly straighforward.

You could use the len function to calculate the number of characters in the word that has been inputted e.g. apple.

x = len(inputted_word)
Where x would be 5 in this case.

Or you could use an if statment to output a unique code or value if the entered word was apple.

if inputted_word == "apple":
    print("!""$%")
or you could replace certain letters in the word apple with other letters.

Let us know which of these you would like help with, or maybe you want other thoughts.

Bass

"The good thing about standards is that you have so many to choose from" Andy S. Tanenbaum
Bass I want to do the 2nd one :P
(Aug-15-2017, 02:39 PM)777CAIN Wrote: Is it possible to get a user to type in something like Apples and it comes back with a number eg

Sure!
whatever_they_typed = input("Say something! ")
print(6)
(Aug-15-2017, 03:40 PM)nilamo Wrote:
(Aug-15-2017, 02:39 PM)777CAIN Wrote: Is it possible to get a user to type in something like Apples and it comes back with a number eg

Sure!
whatever_they_typed = input("Say something! ")
print(6)

Every time they type something different how does it respond different like if i put apple and it says 6 and i put apple123 can it put 12 ect?
(Aug-15-2017, 03:44 PM)777CAIN Wrote: Every time they type something different how does it respond different like if i put apple and it says 6 and i put apple123 can it put 12 ect?