Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Importing Program Wide
Hey everyone,

I’m new to python for, but I have done a lot of php programming.

One feature I liked in php was include. I know Python has import, but that seems to only have a scope to each file it’s in. Is there anyway I can import modules, that will be active in all the other files I open.

For example,

Main.py
Import a
Import b
print(x)
File a.py
x = ‘hello world’
File b.py
print (x)
Output:
hello world
hello world
You need to import a module in whichever other module you want to use it. Why would it make any sense to have things automatically imported everywhere? Can you give an actual use case where you think you need that?
(Sep-06-2020, 06:38 PM)ndc85430 Wrote: Why would it make any sense to have things automatically imported everywhere?

I can make one module filled with functions and class's that I can use through out the programs without having to importing it into every file
If you've got one module that's used everywhere, that sounds like bad design - seems like you don't have separation of concerns.

It would be good to see a concrete example, though.
(Sep-07-2020, 03:40 AM)ndc85430 Wrote: If you've got one module that's used everywhere, that sounds like bad design - seems like you don't have separation of concerns.

It would be good to see a concrete example, though.

I intend to start error logging on the project I’m working on. Now granted this is my first time having to do that manually (in php, the sever was always set up to do that for me). So I wanted to set up a class, or function that I can send errors to. It would automatically add the date, time and source of the error. It would also email me if anything major happened.

Since errors can happen anywhere, it’d be nice if I could autoload that, so I could just call it when it’s needed.