Python Forum
Incredibly basic coding problem
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
Incredibly basic coding problem
Hi everyone

I have zero programming experience but just began a Python tutorial. The code I am writing is not behaving like in the example that I am trying to follow along with. This is what I am typing in PyCharm:

balance = input("enter how much you want to save: 100")

payment = input("enter how much you will be able to pay: 10")
When I run this, only the first line gets executed, as in: 

enter how much you want to save: 100

The second line containing the payment variable does not "show up". If I switch the order of the variables, only the payment variable gets shown.

This is not what happens in the example that I am trying to duplicate. Here, both inputs get shown when the teacher executes them in PyCharm. As far as I can tell, I have written the code exactly like he has.

What am I missing?

what you try to do here is get user input. So it prints some text and expects user input. I would guess that 100 and 10 are actually input from the user, the code is

balance = input("enter how much you want to save:")
payment = input("enter how much you will be able to pay:")
Note you need to hit Enter after the input. Note that this is Python3 code and shall not be used in Python2 even if will work.
Hi Buran, thanks for the reply. I understand that I am getting user input and I am using Python 3.5. What I don't understand is why PyCharm only prints the first line. I assign a value to both the balance and the payment value, and then I hit the execute button in PyCharm. I then expect to see the following: 

enter how much you will be able to pay: 10

But I only see the first line:

My question then is this: Why am I not seeing the second line (enter how much you will be able to pay: 10)?
Please use code tags and stop using color and other formatting of code
I modified your first post, use it as example