Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Incremental loop?
Hello,

I am a beginner student and this is pretty basic, but I am stumped. Our text is Python for Dummies and I am having a hard time figuring this loop out. We jumped from doing pseudocode and flowcharts and basic problem to this loop. The loop is this:

a = number of loops (starting with 0 but increasing by 1 each iteration)

b = a + 1
c = a + b

Condition if c < 5 then loop will continue, else, it will end

So I defined a = 0 but realized that just gives me the variable. Then I defined a and gave it a range of 0, 5. But wasn't sure how to get that range to run automatically. Part of my problem is on the Python tutorials I am confused by the way they do loop examples. I'm basically totally confused. I would appreciate any clarification.
What edition of Python for Dummies you are using? Which chapter it is?

In Python there are for statements and while statements (you can nest them as well). These are keywords which make loop 'run'.

Maybe code below can give you some understanding:

>>> a = 5            # number of loops
>>> while a > 0:     # condition when loop is running
...     print(a)     # what to do on every iteration
...     a -= 1       # decrease remaining number of loops on every iteration
while-loop runs while condition is True (or break is encountered in body), it's like plain english: "while a is larger than zero print value of a and then decrease value of a by 1". So first loop is a = 5, condition is met and it's printed, then a becomes 4, condition still holds and 4 is printed and so forth until a is 0. Then condition doesn't hold anymore and loop finishes automagically Smile
I'm not 'in'-sane. Indeed, I am so far 'out' of sane that you appear a tiny blip on the distant coast of sanity. Bucky Katt, Get Fuzzy

Da Bishop: There's a dead bishop on the landing. I don't know who keeps bringing them in here. ....but society is to blame.
perfringo,