Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Inelegant code!
I hope it's ok to ask for what may be basic help. I am a hobbyist and newish to Python, but used to code in COBOL many years ago. I'd like some help on how you would re-write the structure of my code.

I like to create code to protect my home network via my router and have written some code (below) that successfully reads and processes a file from a website. The file is a list of IP addresses of tor exit points. I can only download it once a day from the remote website so need to save it the first time so I can run the script more than once if I need to. The script has been running successfully for many months.

The code works but I recognise that is it completely inelegant. It drops in and out of if statement and doesn't save the file until the end. I'm hoping someone could give me a bit of help to structure the code in a more elegant pythonesque way. Should I be using Try statements to catch the != 200, but how big should the try statement be?

I realise this is only a snippet, but a response giving some structured pseudocode that I can copy would be very helpful.

TIA, Charles
##############################################################################
# Get tor file once a day from the internet and save it for another run
##############################################################################
print('>>tor')
count = 0
AddressFile = datePrefix + '-torlist.txt'

if os.path.isfile('html/' + AddressFile):
url = 'http://192.168.xxx.xxx/' + AddressFile
print('>>tor from file')
else:
url = 'https://www.xxxxxxxxx/torlist/?exit'
print('>>tor from web')
response = requests.get(url)
if response.status_code != 200:
print('Failed to get data:', response.status_code)
else:
wrapper = csv.reader(response.text.strip().split('\n'), delimiter=';')
for record in wrapper:
if record[0][0:1].isnumeric() and len(record[0]) != 39:
OutText = record[0] + "/32"
ip_list.append(IPNetwork(OutText))
count += 1