Python Forum
Installing pefile from local folder
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Installing pefile from local folder
I'm relatively new to python code, but experienced in several others.

I'm trying to get PyInstaller up and going, stepping through the various dependencies and came upon 'pefile' I found the project for it (https://pypi.org/project/pefile/), and because of the network restrictions I am working in, I can't simply 'pip install pefile' as I would like to.

I am required to download the gz file and unpack it to a folder, then install it.

Dodgy

The difficulty I am encountering is that even when I get the install started with the setup.py file associated with the package, it still attempts to reach out to the net to download items. This is of course blocked. Cry

I've combed the internet looking for some procedure to install pefile from a folder, but have only found the standard method to install it. Therefore I'm looking for assistance on how to go about this from someone more experienced in Python.

My Python version is 3.6 and I'm working on Windows 10 32 bit.

Thanks for any guidance you can offer.

Kip...
if you can figure out what the dependencies are, (often shown on github page, can also look at source code ans see what's being imported) you can install those first, in the same manner from source. Then when you install the higher level software, it will see the installed packages and bypass attempted download.

But a simpler method is to see if you can find wheels, download those and install them using pip
(Jan-09-2020, 04:28 AM)Larz60+ Wrote: But a simpler method is to see if you can find wheels, download those and install them using pip

Agreed. I have looked high and low for a whl file to do the install of PyInstaller. However, you have given me an idea!