Python Forum
Integer Operator in If Statements
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Integer Operator in If Statements
(Feb-25-2017, 04:10 PM)warmth Wrote: Thanks Buran I tried this and it worked, also, ichabod your right! No import functions! Otherwise I could just import math and use the abs value function instead of all those slimy if statements.

abs() is built-in function in python, no import is needed to use it. And if you still cant use it, you can try things like

if x < 0:
    x = -x
Thanks to everyone! I guess im a newbie with coding, this is the intro to computer science course in our university, and I am really liking it so far!

To wavic : He told us to leave it like that, resulting in an error if a non float or int value is entered, and if a two zeros are entered for both values, it should result in a division by 0 error.

To Buran: Totally agree with you, I think I misworded that! I meant to say, is division the only operation which results in a float, and im guessing its like that because of the '//' operation, which will always result in an int.

To Zivoni: yea we still cant use it, he said no functions in general, but lol thanks now ill use that whenever I need an abs. And that if statement makes things so much easier!
i presume ZeroDivisionError can be caught like any other exception

division is the only arithmetic operation (what i think you mean) of integers that gives a float.  even the % (given ints) gives an int.  but, you can get floats by some other operations like conversions from other types.  do you need floats?  do you need non-floats?

to find out about abs() ... https://docs.python.org/3/library/functions.html

to find lots of good stuff: ... https://www.python.org/doc/
Tradition is peer pressure from dead people

What do you call someone who speaks three languages? Trilingual. Two languages? Bilingual. One language? American.