Python Forum
Is it possible to import / run compiled Python (.pyd) file in web browser?
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Is it possible to import / run compiled Python (.pyd) file in web browser?
Hi,

I am new to Python and am trying to import a compiled Python library file (.pyd) into a Python script in a web browser. I have been trying to do this with Brython but have found that it is not possible in that environment. Brython cannot parse / execute compiled Python.

My problem is that I don't know if it's just Brython that this can't be done in or if it is just not possible in a web browser at all. I can find references to how the generic Python include will look for .py, .pyc and then .pyd extensions, but I cannot find anything online that deals with how to do it in a web browser, or indeed if it can even be done in a web browser. This leads me to suspect maybe it is not possible?

Please could someone let me know - is it possible to include a compiled python (.pyd) file into a web-browser Python script? If it is, please could someone point me in the right direction? I am not looking for a solution or finished code or anything - I'm happy to do tons of research and coding - I just need help getting started as I've drawn blanks so far.

Thanks in advance.
From my understanding, a pyd file is basically a windows DLL. It doesn't make sense to me to try to force a DLL to work in a browser - I use OS X at work, Linux at home, and Android on mobile, so what you're doing wouldn't be accessible at all to someone like me.
Hi,

It's a compiled file which contains functionality that the browser app needs. The user base is exclusively running Windows PCs, so there won't be the case of someone on OS-X, Android or whatever trying to use the browser app.

I'd agree that in most circumstances it doesn't seem like a sensible thing to want to do, but in this instance it is a valid requirement - honest! Smile