Python Forum
Join Predicted values with test dataset
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Join Predicted values with test dataset
I am a beginner in machine learning and write my first machine learning code. I have trained a model and got y_pred. Now I want to join x_test with y_pred so that I can compare the predicted values with the real values. I noticed that the indices for x_test are different than y_pred, so how can I join them and make sure that the y_pred values are aligned with the respective indices of x_test.
y_pred = predict_classifier(clf, X_test, y_test)
Could you provide full code? The problem is not clear: why do you need to join arrays? you can check their shapes, e.g. using len, or, if they are numpy arrays, via .shape attribute.

Lets consider common steps of verifying a ML model, in general.

1) You have original dataset X and class labels y; Suppose that these arrays have shapes (n, m) and (n, ) respectively (i.e. we have m-features (# of cols) with n-measurements (# of rows) and n desired classes). These classes could be encoded with integer values (some ML frameworks works only with numerical values).

2) We could train our classifier (or model) on X and y, apply the trained model to X and get y_pred with the same shape as y, and compute some accuracy measures, such as precision, recall, accuracy etc. measure_score(y, y_pred) => some value. Unfortunately, doing so, we get overestimated measures of accuracy. This is due to over fitting problem.

3) A common way to overcome the overfitting problem consist in splitting original