Python Forum
High level Python program architectural design question - decoration for multiple ent
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
High level Python program architectural design question - decoration for multiple ent
I’ve got a python program architecture/design question, that I’d love some input on.

Background

I’m a solid intermediate PY dev - with 1.5 years PY 3.7 coding exp, but also separately had over 10 years experience in architecture/design in other languages.

I’ve had this PY architecture problem going round in my head for a few weeks, and researched/googled/puzzled over what’s the best way to handle it, but I’m still not sure.

So basically I’m not a newbie asking how to do my homework, and I’ve done a bunch of thinking about the problem already and I’m stumped.

The problem below I've got working perfectly in prod right now - I just need to re-architect it to utilize common code for entry points and environment handling and I don't know how best to handle that in PY.

Problem Background
  • I have code that analyses groups of images. There are different types of groups - call them red, blue and green types of images. Each type of group has their own particular method of analysis on the images. call it red, green and blue tests.
    Though the specifics of each type of test on the image groups are different, the pre-processing and post-processing work is the same.
    Currently I have a separate PY prog for each type of group, call them red.py, blue.py etc.

I run these tests either locally or on AWS as lambda calls.
  • So each test has two different entry points, main() if local and lambda_handler() if in AWS.
    These entry points do usual entry point stuff - process arguments, setup logging, and initialisation etc.
    The entry points then call group specific code to do the actually image processing - so conceptually call something like: test_red(group_of_images) in red.py etc. So these calls are different for each different group type