Python Forum
Looking For Help On Controlling Philips Hue From PyCharm
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 2 Average
Looking For Help On Controlling Philips Hue From PyCharm
This is my first post. I hope I am posting in the correct area.
I very recently started learning python because I am interested in home automation (I started using Tasker some years ago and loved it). I like to dive in and get my hands dirty and learn that way. Right now I'm trying to figure out how to control my Philips Hue lights from the PyCharm editor. I have downloaded the API and have become familiar with it, but I do not know where to go from there. I figure there is something I need to download to PyCharm directly before hand, but I do not know where to find this. I would love some help on getting this setup so I can get to making some code for my lights.

Sorry if any of this sounds super noobish. I'm still learning the technical terms.

Thank you!
Welcome to the forum.
So PyCharm is just an IDE. One of many. Nice alternative is VS Code, but as I said there are many
You can run your scripts from the IDE (any IDE), but you have many other options to choose from - e.g. from command prompt (cmd.exe) or double-click on it (if python.exe is associated with py files) or convert your script to exe, etc.
I don't know how far you have done this, but:
1. first of all you need to download and install python
2. install any external packages that may be required (e.g. there may be some package to facilitate development with this API - official or third-party)
3.Possibly set-up your project in the IDE (e.g. for PyCharm)
4.Start to develop your script(s) and have fun.
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

Are you asking how to use Python to call the API? Are you familiar with using urllib or something like that to make network requests?