Python Forum
Looping exercise Bacteria growth
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Looping exercise Bacteria growth
Hi. I am taking a python course(I am a complete beginner) and I am unable to solve one of the assigned exercises. Can someone help me understand how can I input the "t" into the code to get tN as output?
so far my code:
import numpy as np
import math
def bacteriaGrowth(n0, alpha, K, N):
    a= alpha  #" Growth rate"
    K= K #Capacity
    t= x

if N[x+1] == (1 + a*[1- n0/K])*n0:
        N>n0 and N<K
        tN= x +1 
        return tN
The exercise description below....

It has been discovered that a population of bacteria grows according to the following law: If there are nt bacteria
at time t then one hour later at time t + 1 there will be
nt+1 = (1 + *α[1- nt/K])*nt

where α is a positive number that controls the growth rate and K is a positive number that defines the capacity,
i.e., the maximum number of bacteria in the population.
Problem definition

Write a program that simulates the bacteria growth hour by hour and stops when the number of bacteria exceeds
some fixed number, N. Your program must return the time t at which the population first exceeds N. Even
though the actual number of bacteria is really a whole number (integer) your program must work with nt as a
decimal number (real), i.e., you should not round the numbers.

Solution template
# Insert your code here
return tN
Input
n0 Initial number of bacteria (scalar)
alpha Growth rate (scalar)
K Capacity (scalar)
N Final population size (scalar, n0<N<K)
Output
tN Time t at which population size exceeds N (scalar)

Thank you for your help in advance....
It's like obfuscation contest - all these n0, K, N, tK, x.
I'm not 'in'-sane. Indeed, I am so far 'out' of sane that you appear a tiny blip on the distant coast of sanity. Bucky Katt, Get Fuzzy

Da Bishop: There's a dead bishop on the landing. I don't know who keeps bringing them in here. ....but society is to blame.