Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Loops in List
Hello everyone,

I'm new to Python and I'm having difficulty understanding why my Loop-List code doesn't work.

# loop in list

listA = list(range(0,101,5))

for i in range(len(listA)):
    print('Item no. ' + str(i+1) + ' is: ' + listA[i])
Please advise. Thank you.  Big Grin

for index, element in enumerate(listA, 1):
    print("Item no. {} is {}".format(index, element))
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org
this is showing the perl philosophy that there is more than one way to do it.  so why not put str() around listA[i] so the original method works as intended?  what is wrong with minimal change?

# loop in list

print('Item no. ' + str(i+1) + ' is: ' + str(listA[i]) )
[/i][/i]
Tradition is peer pressure from dead people

What do you call someone who speaks three languages? Trilingual. Two languages? Bilingual. One language? American.
It's not wrong. print('Item no. ', (i+1), ' is: ', listA[i]) will work too. It's about routines. 

Hello, @SandraDan. As @Scaperen showed you, to concatenate strings they must be strings. listA[i] is an integer.
(Mar-11-2017, 08:04 AM)Skaperen Wrote: what is wrong with minimal change?
well, why not show a better way, 'pythonic' why?
(Mar-11-2017, 08:29 AM)wavic Wrote: It's not wrong. print('Item no. ', (i+1), ' is: ', listA[i]) will work too. It's about routines. 

Hello, @SandraDan. As @Scaperen showed you, to concatenate strings they must be strings. listA is an integer.

it did not work, unchanged, for me.  i think it should have, but i definitely got an error.

Output: