Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
MATLAB to Python conversion
Hi - I am new to Python and am converting some MATLAB code over. I have a question about converting MATLAB nested variables (is that the right term for this?) with varying sizes and dimensions into Python. Is there a way in Python to set up my variable below, filedata(x).shiftinfo.numapples(y,z), equivalently in Python? I'm not sure how to ask without an example. My stripped-down MATLAB example code is below.

files = ['C:\temp\day1.dat','C:\temp\day2.dat'];   % Files to read (1 file for each day apple pickers worked)
for x = 1:numel(files)                             % Loop over each file
   [fid,msg] = fopen(files(x),'r','b');            % Open for reading binary data
   numShifts(x) = fread(fid,1,'uint32');           % Read # of worker shifts on that day
   for y = 1:numShifts(x)                          % Now loop over the shifts
      filedata(x).numFarmers(y) = fread(fid,1,'uint32');  % Read number of farmers working that shift
      for z = 1:filedata(x).numFarmers(y)          % Now read number of apples picked by each farmer on that shift.
         filedata(x).shiftinfo.numapples(y,z) = fread(fid,1,'uint32'); 
      end
   end
end
Right now I'm just storing one set of z values at a time and bookkeeping x,y indices for that entry. Is there a better way?
TL;DR version:
Can I replicate the following MATLAB variable somehow in Python, where ny can change with x and nz can change with y?
var(x).inner.innerinner(y,z)
I am not MATLAB person so for me it would better to explain what do you want to accomplish instead of providing code.
I'm not 'in'-sane. Indeed, I am so far 'out' of sane that you appear a tiny blip on the distant coast of sanity. Bucky Katt, Get Fuzzy

Da Bishop: There's a dead bishop on the landing. I don't know who keeps bringing them in here. ....but society is to blame.
and in addition to what @pefringo said - show the format of input file.