Python Forum
March Madness - Please give advice on my project thought
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
March Madness - Please give advice on my project thought
I'm quite new to python, but in the last few weeks I've learned concepts like lists, dictionaries, tuples, opening and reading text files, and storing data from the text files to new lists. One of the challenges of a non-programmer learning programming is that I don't always have ideas for projects to continue to refine and solidify what I've learned. Welcome: March Madness. I thought a fun project might be to get people to input their picks into an excel file that can be exported to text (because I don't know how to look at excel directly yet), where each game outcome is a unique position (list index 0 through 62, because there are 63 game outcomes). Then, I could potentially run a loop that would simulate one permutation of tournament outcome and store the data, compare it to the list of an individual person's picks, score the "bracket" and announce the winner. A more sophisticated program could then do ALL permutations of the tournament (there are many billion before the tournament starts...I believe 2^63), and record the potential "winner" under all permutations. As the tournament goes on, I could somehow load in the actual results to update the tournament permutations with actual results.

I think a project like this might be good at using lists, potentially dictionaries, loops, tuples, etc.