Python Forum
Multiprocessing my Loop/Iteration (Try...Except)
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Multiprocessing my Loop/Iteration (Try...Except)
Im converting one chemical notation to another type. My list has like over 6k different names to convert and it takes so long. How can I use multiprocessing? I tried to implement myself, but im a noob. Other code optimisations are welcome too!

I tried to implement multiprocessing myself, but im a noob

def resolve(str_input, representation):
    import cirpy
    return cirpy.resolve(str_input, representation)

compound_list = []
smiles_list = []

for index, row in df_Verteilung.iterrows():

try:
        actual_smiles = resolve(row['Compound'], 'smiles')

except:
        actual_smiles = 'Error'

print('\r', row['Compound'], actual_smiles, end='')

compound_list.append(row['Compound'])
    smiles_list.append(actual_smiles)

df_new = pd.DataFrame({'Compound' : compound_list, 'SmilesCode' : smiles_list})
df_new.to_csv(index=False)
Hi,

there is no multiprocessing in your posted code at all...What did you try yet? Also, 6000 names doesn't sound that excessive - how long does one conversion take?

Is there any reason why you don't use the apply method of Pandas for converting the Compound column? This would make your code much easier.

Notes on your code:
* Never use naked try... except as this catches all errors, incl. programming error. Errors should be caught explicitely.
* Having a postfix stating the data type of a variable doesn't make too much sense. The data type should be clear from your code.
* The import statement in line 2 should be move to the top of your code, shouldn't be inside the function.

Regards, noisefloor
I know there is no multiprocessing in it. I didn't post it, because there was always an error.
A conversion took on my MBP like 1 1/2 hour.

I tried the apply function, but it didn't work. Could you show me how the apply method works?