Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
N00bie
I am completely new to coding. I've gone through a rough-patch in life, been through hell, but came through the other side wanting to get into the field of data science.
After figuring out finally what I want to do with myself (I'm 26, btw), I've explored the field of computer science pretty thoroughly. It is hard for me to settle down to code rather then tour this "other world" and try to lay basic foundations for my approach into this realm.
My question is as follows:
I have a hard time sitting through a lot of these tutorials (Youtube, CodingBootCamp, MIT free courses, etc.), because from what I learned in this industry, you need to have a clear mind about WHAT YOU WANT TO DO with something like Python, in order to be experienced with that particular skill set.
Does anybody know where I can find these path-endings so that I can narrow down my search and delve into the journey towards these sub-fields?
I prefer data science but can appreciate any intel on something else that can be useful.

Thank you!
Hi,

I am sort of like you, I am just getting into coding but I had an idea long ago that I would like it just never actually sat down and just did it. I think there is a misconception that you are buying into and that is, having a clear mind and knowing what to do with Python or any programming language for that matter right from the get go.

Your main goal right now is to learn to be a programmer. I'm not talking about this language or that language, there is a mind set you have to learn and understand to actually create a solid foundation to learn an actual programming language. There are concepts like loops for instance, when to apply a for or a while loop. There is also comments which are super important for every programmer to understand because it communicates what blocks of code are and what it is meant to do.