Python Forum
NameError: name 'countryDat' is not defined
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hey, so I'm new to Python and I attempted to practice what I learned from tutorials by making a program that gives you how many years you have to live based on life expectancy in a country, your age, and if you smoke or not. I use Python 3.6.2 in PyCharm.

def calc_life(age, country, smoke):
    '''
    I made a list of three countries and another with their life expectancy average. I also make a counter 'y'
    to use in the 'for x in countryList' loop.
    '''
    countryTime = [75, 85, 90]
    countryList = ["Mexico", "US", "Canada"]
    global countryDat, smokeDat
    y = 0

for x in countryList:       #This loop gets the life expectancy of the country. The result is 'countryDat'
        if x is country:
            countryDat = countryTime[y]
        else:
            y = y + 1

if smoke is "Yes":          #This loop is to assign a value to smokeDat depending if the person smokes
        smokeDat = -10
    elif smoke is "No":
        smokeDat = 0

time = (countryDat - age) + smokeDat    #This just adds the previous results to get the remaning expected years of the person
    return time

#This just asks the user the info needed for the 'calc_life' funcion
print("How old are you?")
age = int(input())
print("In what country do you live? (Mexico, US, or Canada)")
country = input()
print("Do you smoke?")
smoke = input()

result = calc_life(age, country, smoke)

print(result)
I get the following when I run it:
How old are you?
In what country do you live? (Mexico, US, or Canada)
US
Do you smoke?
No
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:/Users/josea/PycharmProjects/untitled/asdf.py", line 33, in <module>
    result = calc_life(age, country, smoke)
  File "C:/Users/josea/PycharmProjects/untitled/asdf.py", line 22, in calc_life
    time = (countryDat - age) + smokeDat    #This just adds the previous results to get the remaning expected years of the person