Python Forum
NameError: name 'os' is not defined
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
NameError: name 'os' is not defined
Hello
I am new to coding python and to this forum… If I do come with a NOOB question, please tell me..
My question is: what is the difference between import <a module> and from <a module> import *…

I am working at the console of IDLE running under windows 10.
Python 3.8.2 (tags/v3.8.2:7b3ab59, Feb 25 2020, 23:03:10) [MSC v.1916 64 bit (AMD64)] on win32
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license()" for more information.

If I type
>>> import os
>>> type(os)
<class 'module'>
>>> dir(os)
['DirEntry', 'F_OK', 'MutableMapping', <cut> , 'getcwd', <cut>
>>> getcwd

Error:
Traceback (most recent call last): File "<pyshell#6>", line 1, in <module> getcwd NameError: name 'getcwd' is not defined
>>> getcwd()
Error:
Traceback (most recent call last): File "<pyshell#7>", line 1, in <module> getcwd() NameError: name 'getcwd' is not defined
Now, I use the other form of import…
>>> from os import *
>>> getcwd
<built-in function getcwd>
>>> getcwd()
'C:\\Program Files\\Python38'
So either I do something wrong or there is a problem… I did some search and found this problem reported on GitHub… BUT it could not be reproduced…

Please note that I have this behaviour any time I start a new python shell via the icon… This is true for other module than os… I have the same effect with math…

Is "import <a module>" not often used in favour of "from <a module> import <what needed> ???

Thanks in advance.
1. when you do import os you need to fully qualify which function you want to use e.g. os.getcwd()
2. alternative is to do from os import getcwd, then you can do detcwd()
3. the worst (discouraged) approach is to use star import - from os import *

In all 3 cases the full module is imported.
the difference between 1 and 2 is what name(s) are available to you