Python Forum
Natural Logarithm in Python
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 4.5 Average
Natural Logarithm in Python
OHello all,

I'm relatively new at Python; I need to input an equation, but I need help with expressing the Natural Logarithm in Python (ln):

The equation is:

(7.35 x E) + [17.34 x ln(Len)] + [4.96 x ln(Conc)] + [0.89 x ln(DNA)] - 25.42

E, Len, Conc, and DNA are the variables.  I will post what I have later, thanks in advance!!
>>> import math
>>> help(math.log)
Help on built-in function log in module math:

log(...)
    log(x[, base])

Return the logarithm of x to the given base.
    If the base not specified, returns the natural logarithm (base e) of x.

>>>
:)
Thanks!!  Big Grin
This is what I have so far... I'd appreciate if someone can take a look:

[Image: cRLurQ]
(May-01-2017, 12:39 AM)yg89 Wrote: This is what I have so far... I'd appreciate if someone can take a look:

[Image: cRLurQ]

Interesting concept - JPEG as IDE  Naughty . There's a novelty concept for you : copy **arrow** paste  **arrow**  Python tags
Test everything in a Python shell (iPython, Azure Notebook, etc.)
  • Someone gave you an advice you liked? Test it - maybe the advice was actually bad.
  • Someone gave you an advice you think is bad? Test it before arguing - maybe it was good.
  • You posted a claim that something you did not test works? Be prepared to eat your hat.
Sorry, here it goes:

import math
help(math.log)

E = float(input("DNA strength parameter per base:"))
Len = float(input("Length of nucleotide sequence:"))
Conc = float(input("Sodium concentration of the solution:"))
DNA = float(input("Total nucleotide strand concentration:"))

print (7.35 * E) + 17.34 + math.log(Len) + 4.96 * math.log(Conc) + 0.89 * math.log(DNA) - 25.42
So what do you get when compared to a manual calculation?