Python Forum
Need your opinions on my experimental library based on RxPy
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Need your opinions on my experimental library based on RxPy
Hi, everyone! My first post here :)

I need opinions on my experimental library that I've been working, and it'd be great if I could get a few advices on how to write better/idiomatic Python code also. By the way, I also posted the same question on Reddit's r/python, so you can reply there instead, if you like.

Recently, I started learning Python and the language's 'descriptor' feature gave me an idea about a new style of programming, so I'd like to see if it's indeed a useful idea or not by asking seasoned Python programmers here.

I've been trying to find a way to integrate some of the Functional Programming(FP) principles in an Object-Oriented Programming context seamlessly.

And I think ReactiveX could be a key to achieve this elusive goal, as it can be used to compose declarative pipelines of data, instead of manipulating it in an imperative style, as it often falls under criticism with the traditional OOP approach. In short, I think we can make a class an eligible participant in such a pipeline if we declare every property in a class as 'Observable[T]'.

The problem with this approach, however, is that it is often desirable or necessary to step across the Rx boundary if we are to build a complex system using this principle.

If we are dealing with actual asynchronous data sources, like a Tweet stream, for instance, we can write the whole program using only Rx pipelines. However, if we are to treat Observables as properties in OOP, and try to use it for everything that may change over time, it can be problematic.