Python Forum
Newbie trying to pass text from different thread
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Newbie trying to pass text from different thread
Hi,
I am new to Python and try to write my first program. The main goal of the program is to read data from an OPC UA server and then execute a shell command. I have it working for the most part but I think I have an issue with threading. This is the main code

# ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# import libraries
import subprocess 
import sys
import threading
from datetime import datetime
from window import Ui_MainWindow
import PyQt5
from PyQt5 import QtCore, QtGui, uic, QtWidgets
from opc_client import SubHandler

if hasattr(QtCore.Qt, 'AA_EnableHighDpiScaling'):
    PyQt5.QtWidgets.QApplication.setAttribute(QtCore.Qt.AA_EnableHighDpiScaling, True)

if hasattr(QtCore.Qt, 'AA_UseHighDpiPixmaps'):
    PyQt5.QtWidgets.QApplication.setAttribute(QtCore.Qt.AA_UseHighDpiPixmaps, True)

# ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# callback for opc ua value change
def opc_value_changed(val, file_path):
    ui.txtStatus.appendPlainText(str(datetime.now().strftime("%d/%m/%Y %H:%M:%S")) + " new command -> " + file_path)
    ui.txtStatus.update()
    try:
        process = subprocess.Popen(file_path, universal_newlines=True, stdout=subprocess.PIPE, stderr=subprocess.PIPE)
        retcode = process.returncode
        ui.txtStatus.appendPlainText(str(datetime.now().strftime("%d/%m/%Y %H:%M:%S")) + " command result -> " + str(retcode))
        client.respond(0)
    except Exception as e:
        ui.txtStatus.appendPlainText(str(datetime.now().strftime("%d/%m/%Y %H:%M:%S")) + " command error -> " + str(e))
        client.respond(1)

# start ui and opc tasks
if __name__ == '__main__':
    # start ui
    app = QtWidgets.QApplication(sys.argv)
    MainWindow = QtWidgets.QMainWindow()
    ui = Ui_MainWindow()