Python Forum
No output in 'english word generator'
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
No output in 'english word generator'
Hi everyone

I'm quite new to python, only been doing it for a semester now, so I don't really now quite a lot of syntax, in fact, the syntax I use in the program of our interest today, may well be the only syntax I've fully mastered (that's why it's in the homework section). 'Fully' is a little ironic when posting on a forum ;), so let's get right into it. For a friend, who studies languages and likes to write poems, I tried to code a 'english word generator' that can 1. determine word length based on the normal distribution of the word lenghts in the English language or just use the word length that the user provided it with (this whole part works). And 2. Completely randomly build up a word from nothing (this part works too)(*). And 3. Checks if that word is a valid English word (I posses a digital list with all valid English words to check in), and if it is, print it to display. This last part is where the problems occur: the program runs perfectly natural, but instead of printing a word, it just doesn't print anything. In the variables list, I can see my word being a build-up of random characters, as long as the word length, but not nearly a valid word (it doesn't print, also). I understand that the chance of generating a valid English word this way(*) is pretty small, so I wondered if my computer might just stop trying it after a couple of hundred times. Is that a valid thought? Or should my computer keep running and generating? If it doesn't stop because of this, I don't see why it stops running at a certain point (it kind of 'gives up') because printing out a valid word is actually (at least that's what I think), the only way to stop for the program. I'll include the code in beneath.
Thanks in advance!