Python Forum
Cannot add dot executable to system path
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Cannot add dot executable to system path
#1
When I run graphviz

https://graphviz.readthedocs.io/en/stable/

I get the following error

graphviz.backend.ExecutableNotFound: failed to execute ['dot', '-Tpdf', '-O', 'test-output/aoc.gv.pdf'], make sure the Graphviz executables are on your systems' PATH

I don't know what the graphviz executables are. In any case, my best guess is that I have to add the path of the module that uses graphviz or I have to add the graphviz module to my .bash_profile. Currently, my bash_profile has this line:

PATH="/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.6/bin:${PATH}

So I tried adding the path of where the module that uses Graphviz is located which is

/Users/me/PycharmProjects/inference_engine2/inference2/proofs/other/use_graphviz.py

Plus the graphviz module itself which is:

/library/frameworks/python.framework/versions/3.6/lib/python3.6/site-packages/graphviz/

Making the final product to be:

PATH="/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.6/bin:${PATH}:/Users/me/PycharmProjects/inference_engine2/inference2/proofs/other/use_graphviz.py:/library/frameworks/python.framework/versions/3.6/lib/python3.6/site-packages/graphviz/"

But that did not work. I need to know what string I have to add to the PATH.
Reply
#2
This doesn't really seem like a Python question. Are you able to get graphviz working outside of Python, you're just having trouble with Python? Or have you not tried / can't get working graphviz by itself? Assuming the latter, you might want to take a look at https://stackoverflow.com/a/38669904/1157440
Reply
#3
Problem solved. It took me a while to figure out that I had to download some non-pythonic software before I could get the pythonic software to work.

brew install graphviz

Was step 1 and I had done that before but I was getting an error message. It told me to change ownership of some files so I did that. Then tried

brew install graphviz

again and that did the trick.
Reply


Possibly Related Threads…
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  WebDriverException: Message: 'PATH TO CHROME DRIVER' executable needs to be in PATH Led_Zeppelin 1 2,150 Sep-09-2021, 01:25 PM
Last Post: Yoriz
Exclamation "System cannot find path specified"(Geany) kiwi99 2 3,775 Mar-18-2021, 07:37 PM
Last Post: kiwi99
  Difference between os.system("clear") and os.system("cls") chmsrohit 7 16,495 Jan-11-2021, 06:30 PM
Last Post: ykumar34
  How could i change the python interpreter path of os.system() 12019202386 2 2,485 Sep-02-2020, 06:58 AM
Last Post: DeaD_EyE
Question Difference between Python's os.system and Perl's system command Agile741 13 6,656 Dec-02-2019, 04:41 PM
Last Post: Agile741
  [split] FileNotFoundError...System cannot find the path specified powerrocker 1 2,023 Oct-03-2019, 09:09 AM
Last Post: buran
  FileNotFoundError...System cannot find the path specified alex9745 28 21,145 Jul-23-2019, 05:14 AM
Last Post: alex9745
  [python]FileNotFoundError...System cannot find the path specified creichle 1 3,609 Jan-30-2019, 12:49 AM
Last Post: Larz60+
  .pth file does not show up in sys.path when configuring path. arjunsingh2908 2 5,671 Jul-03-2018, 11:16 AM
Last Post: arjunsingh2908

Forum Jump:

User Panel Messages

Announcements
Announcement #1 8/1/2020
Announcement #2 8/2/2020
Announcement #3 8/6/2020