Python Forum
Off topic, but how did you get better?
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Off topic, but how did you get better?
I am teaching myself Python and I have taken many different beginner series from "Automate the boring stuff" to a few Udemy courses. I understand the basic stuff, but sitting here reading the docs can be boring and I often catch myself just staring at the screen because I lose focus, or I don't fully understand something. I feel like I learn better by doing, so I try and find online tutorials and follow along. Currently I am involved in web scrapping with BeautifulSoup. I feel like I lack a structured learning environment (downside to teaching yourself), so how did you, or how are you learning Python? And did you learn everything in the doc before moving on to something else?

Thanks for reading
I learned by self taught. After the basics are down i started doing things i was interested in. In my case was GUI, then pygme, then web scraping, etc. During those i learned more basic stuff, but was a lot more interesting than reading docs. A lot of my method was trial and error. This forum became my instructor as multiple people responding to my questions giving different info. IF i had a question, i would post here. If I finished a script i would post here and try to get pointers for how to make my code better. If i had a problem i would post here, and people would respond sometimes with different methods. Which in turn i learned at at least about those different methods. I would read others questions and their thread responses to learn as much about everything i was interested in.

EDIT:
Actually i did take a class in python in college. But i learned more by self teaching than i ever did in college.
Recommended Tutorials: