Python Forum
Opinion on Python Security Books
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Opinion on Python Security Books
I just missed out on the free e-book about Python penetration testing over on Packt Angry

Anyways, I just wanted to know, the book was printed in 2015, we're now nearing the end of 2017(2 months away). Would a book printed in 2015 still be applicable? Technology changes fast, and with it security. I'm wondering if I purchase the book, is it worth it? I can't seem to find any book printed recently, and even if I do, I have a feeling I would have to read/learn it fast.

Just wanted to hear your opinions.
Just started reading it this morning, so I'm not an expert on it yet.  One thing of note, though there is an honorable mention to Python 3, the code is all in Python 2.7. It also seems to be targeted towards the use of Kali Linux. I imagine, provided you can find the tools used, you could use them on any Linux system (and possibly Windows). There also seems to be a section on basic networking, the OSI model and the workings of TCP/UDP.

Looks to be an interesting read all things considered.
If it ain't broke, I just haven't gotten to it yet.
OS: Windows 10, openSuse 42.3, freeBSD 11, Raspian "Stretch"
Python 3.6.5, IDE: PyCharm 2018 Community Edition
(Oct-13-2017, 02:23 PM)sparkz_alot Wrote: Just started reading it this morning, so I'm not an expert on it yet.  One thing of note, though there is an honorable mention to Python 3, the code is all in Python 2.7. It also seems to be targeted towards the use of Kali Linux. I imagine, provided you can find the tools used, you could use them on any Linux system (and possibly Windows). There also seems to be a section on basic networking, the OSI model and the workings of TCP/UDP.

Looks to be an interesting read all things considered.