Python Forum
Order of Operation for creating organizational database software
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Order of Operation for creating organizational database software
Hello! I’m a music composer and am looking to try to build an organizational database to keep better (and more in-depth) track of the music I create. I got referred to Python code by a friend of mine a couple of weeks ago. I’ve watched a lot of tutorials online (Sentdex’s youtube page) and am working through the “Automate The Boring Stuff with Python” e-book. I’ve been following along with the e-book and youtube tutorials in IDLE Python 3.6.2. as well as DB Browser for SQLite (3.9.1, Qt 5.7.1, SQLCipher 3.11.0). I’m on a Mac; OSX 10.9.5.

I’d like to build a piece of software that does the following:

* Displays info for each track: running track count, track titles, track metadata (i.e. genre, duration, tempo, key, music library/publisher, etc)
* I’d like the ability to either enter this information in manually (using a separate window to enter the info into) or to scrape the info from a CSV or PDF, which would then populate the table(s).

* Keeps track of all royalty/revenue earned for each music title.
* I’d like the ability to either enter this information in manually (using a separate window to enter the info into) or to scrape the info from a CSV or PDF, which would then populate the table(s).

* Run a bunch of different reports on all of this information.

* Has a very simple gui that is agile with searching, sorting, and reporting.