Python Forum
Passing parameters to SQL Server using pandas
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Passing parameters to SQL Server using pandas
Hello Python forum,

I'm new to python world. Please bear with me if my question sounds silly.

My problem statement : Passing parameter to SQL server using pandas.

Note: Have imported all the necessary library for pandas,datetime,pyodbc in my code

Sql_query = """ SELECT Top 10
TRIM([Insured Name]) AS [Insured Name] From
tblPremiumRegisterReport Where
cast(dtInforceDate as date) between cast(@dtFrom as date) and cast(@dtUpto as date)"""

pd.read_sql(Sql_query,con=conn,params={'@dtFrom':date.today(),'@dtUpto':date.today()})

Getting below error:
Error:
ProgrammingError Traceback (most recent call last) C:\ProgramData\Anaconda3\lib\site-packages\pandas\io\sql.py in execute(self, *args, **kwargs) 1377 else: -> 1378 cur.execute(*args) 1379 return cur ProgrammingError: ('The SQL contains 0 parameter markers, but 1 parameters were supplied', 'HY000') During handling of the above exception, another exception occurred: DatabaseError Traceback (most recent call last) <ipython-input-144-11ba7d565e99> in <module>() 2 TRIM([Insured Name]) AS [Insured Name] From 3 tblPremiumRegisterReport Where ----> 4 cast(dtInforceDate as date) between cast(@fromdate as date) and cast(@Uptodate as date)""",con=conn,params={'@dtFrom':date.today(),'@dtUpto':date.today()})
You should show us the whole code.
Hi Heiner55,

Thank you for your reply. I was able to fix the error above. But,ended up in the new error.

Data_Source: .NET Framework Data Provider for OLE DB
OLE DB Provider : IBM DB2 for i IBMDA400 OLE DB

Python code as follows:
import adodbapi
import win32com.client

server='xx.x.xx.xx'
database='B60FCE23'
username='Robot'
password='xxxxxxx'

conn = adodbapi.connect("Provider=IBM DB2 for i IBMDA400 OLE DB; SERVER=server; Initial Catalog=database;User Id=username; Password=password;")
Not able to establish the connection successfully