Python Forum
Pip apparently installed but unrecognized by CMD
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pip apparently installed but unrecognized by CMD
Hello, I am an absolute beginner. It's been just one week that I am approaching to Python. I didn't really pick up the meaning of the enviroments but I need time. One question: in my desktop I installed Python by Visual Studio 2017. It works but I am struggling a lot when I want install the packages outside Visual Studio. Googling around I found some code in CMD to use and the result is, py -V Python 3.6.3 pip -V pip is not recognized as internal or external command... py -m ensurepip Requirement already satisfied:setuptools in c:\program files (x86)\microsoft visual studio\shared\python36_64\lib\sitepackages
Requirement already satisfied:pip in c:\program files (x86)\microsoft visual studio\shared\python36_64\lib\sitepackages

The point is that if I run a pip -m install pyodbc for example it retrieve the error pip not recognised so I must go to Visual Studio, create a new environment (I don't understand why I must create a new one) and install the package. After that I use import sys giving the path of the folder where the package is. Quite annoying.
I added the c:\program files (x86)\microsoft visual studio\shared\python36_64\lib\sitepackages to PATH in the system environment but nothing changed.
Any advice?
Many Thanks
(Apr-03-2018, 03:50 PM)diegoctn Wrote: Any advice?
Python 3.6 and pip installation under Windows, part-2.
Quote:in my desktop I installed Python by Visual Studio 2017.
I would drop Visual Studio,and use VS Code my quick review i while back.
Find the location of python.exe on your computer.

There is a subfolder in that folder called Scripts. The folder that contains python.exe and the Scripts Subfolder should both be included in the PATH Environment variable.

Lewis
To paraphrase: 'Throw out your dead' code. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=grbSQ6O6kbs Forward to 1:00