Python Forum
Playing mp3 file to specific device
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Playing mp3 file to specific device
I'm new to python but want to try converting an ESP32 project to work on a Raspberry pi and most suggestions say python is the way to go for IoT development on a Pi.

One of the things my project deals with is playing sound effects based on various triggers and events. I would prefer to store the files in mp3 format as they are smaller and the tags allow me to include details on what the files contain. (I'm pulling them -- with the author's permission -- out of an audiobook. so I try to keep track of what page/chapter they come from, who the speaker is, what the basic context is, etc)

The problem is that on a Pi, I ended up getting an external board for the DAC playback which means it isn't necessarily going to be the default system playback device. Also, since this is being built on a Pi Zero, I have the option to use bluetooth connections. I would like to be able to select which device is going to be the target for the playback of the sounds. (possibly even the default HDMI audio output as a potential option)

I will likely use some kind of a web interface in addition to scripts that will be running at boot-up to handle the various behaviors and settings. So it would read device information (current chosen playback device) from some kind of a data file (probably json data or an .ini format)

I can find examples on playback using any number of libraries or system calls. I can find examples of device selection using sounddevice. But I can't seem to find any mp3 specific playback examples that target a specific alsa device. (the dac board is seeedstudio voicecard which uses an alsa driver and shows up as device 2)

Thanks in advance for any assistance.
try looking here: https://pypi.org/
Thanks, I've been looking for a link like that. I have been wondering if there was anything equivalent to Arduino Playground for Pi/Python