Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Please help :)
Hi all, I am new to Python and currently doing NLTK sentiment analysis on customer reviews. I have a SAS data set that stores all customer review and i import it into Python and it turn into Data Frame. I try to convert the dataframe into list and apply Sentiment Intensity Analyzer, but it doesn't seem to work.

Can anyone please help? Thanks

mydata = pd.read_sas('C:\\Users\\00124118\\Desktop\\call_center_data.sas7bdat')
dfList = mydata['DESCRIPTION'].tolist()

import nltk
from nltk.sentiment.vader import SentimentIntensityAnalyzer
analyzer = SentimentIntensityAnalyzer()

call = []
vs_compound = []
vs_pos = []
vs_neu = []
vs_neg = []

for i in range(0, len(dflist)):
    call.append(dflist[i]['text'])
    vs_compound.append(analyzer.polarity_scores(dflist[i]['text'])['compound'])
    vs_pos.append(analyzer.polarity_scores(dflist[i]['text'])['pos'])
    vs_neu.append(analyzer.polarity_scores(dflist[i]['text'])['neu'])
    vs_neg.append(analyzer.polarity_scores(dflist[i]['text'])['neg'])

from pandas import Series, DataFrame

final = DataFrame({'Call': call,
                        'Compound': vs_compound,
                        'Positive': vs_pos,
                        'Neutral': vs_neu,
                        'Negative': vs_neg})
final = final[['Call', 'Compound','Positive', 'Neutral', 'Negative']]

Currently I'm getting this error
Error:
File "<ipython-input-119-00c678e5dcd7>", line 2, in <module> call.append(dflist[i]['text']) TypeError: byte indices must be integers or slices, not str
this error looks inconsistent with your code.
The line call.append(dflist[i]['text']) is on line 15 in your code and according to error - it is on line 2.

Also note the difference dfList on line#2 and dflist on line#15 - I would guess these are same
(Oct-09-2017, 06:31 AM)buran Wrote: this error looks inconsistent with your code.