Python Forum
Please help me to create company budget
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Please help me to create company budget
Hi.

I am an accountant and new to programming.

I wanted to know whether I should create a budget for the company I work at in Python. It is a manufacturing concern and I need to prepare budgeted financial statements for each month for the next year. This will mainly involve getting product information, volumes, inflation factors, procurement plan, working capital cycle, etc. from user and prior year data from SAP (or excel if SAP integration gets too complex) and using it to generate financial statements. These then need to be compared with actual data each month to present variances and other data in graphical and numerical form. Also, users should be able to modify any input to update the budget.

All this on a GUI based Windows application. If all goes well, maybe I will consider allowing multiple users on the network to access and input data.

Presently we use excel for budgeting but spreadsheets get complex quite fast, are prone to errors and hell to update or compare with actual data.

Should I even be thinking of undertaking this project in python? Is it too large a project for one person? And what tools will I need to learn? Like TKinter, some database management tool, etc.

Thanks
I think it's entirely doable in Python. However, I can't imagine this is a new problem in accounting. Isn't there accounting software or VBA code out there for this sort of problem?