Python Forum
Please help: problem installing/importing langdetect module in Jupyter Notebook
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Please help: problem installing/importing langdetect module in Jupyter Notebook
Hello, I would like to start by letting you know that I am a layperson. I only started working with Python a few weeks ago, so I am new to this. I would be very grateful for your help!

I want to test out Omar Einea's Goodreads Reviews Scraper (https://github.com/OmarEinea/GoodReadsScraper). I followed his instructions and installed beautifulsoup4, langdetect, selenium and lxml.
I copy-pasted part of his code from reviews.py to a Jupyter Notebook to test it out and ran the following cell:

from Tools import SafeThread
from bs4 import BeautifulSoup
from langdetect import detect
from Browser import Browser
from Writer import Writer
However, I got the following error:

Error:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------- ModuleNotFoundError Traceback (most recent call last) <ipython-input-5-f57bdcb0fa9c> in <module> 1 from Tools import SafeThread 2 from bs4 import BeautifulSoup ----> 3 from langdetect import detect 4 from Browser import Browser 5 from Writer import Writer ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'langdetect'
I thought that perhaps I hadn't installed langdetect correctly, so I ran
 pip install langdetect 
in the command line again, but I received the message that it had already been installed:

Requirement already satisfied: langdetect in c:\users\XXX\appdata\local\programs\python\python38-32\lib\site-packages (1.0.7)
Requirement already satisfied: six in c:\users\XXX\appdata\local\programs\python\python38-32\lib\site-packages (from langdetect) (1.13.0)
Do you have any ideas on how I might be able to solve this problem?
Thank you in advance for your help and understanding!
Test that it work from command line and then you most check that same Python interpreter is set in PyCharm.