Python Forum
Print more than 20 posts with Python Tumblr API
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Print more than 20 posts with Python Tumblr API

Good afternoon,

I'm very new to Python, but I'm trying to write a code which will allow me to download all of the posts (including the "notes") from a specified Tumblr account to my computer.

Given my inexperience with coding, I was trying to find a pre-made script which would allow me to do this. I found several brilliant scripts on GitHub, but none of them actually return the notes from Tumblr posts (as far as I can see, although please do correct me if anyone knows of one that does!).

Therefore, I tried to write my own script. I've had some success with the code below. It prints the most recent 20 posts from the given Tumblr (albeit in a rather ugly format -- essentially hundreds of lines of texts all printed into one line of a notepad file):

import pytumblr

# Authenticate via API Key
client = pytumblr.TumblrRestClient('myapikey')

# Make the request
client.posts('staff', limit=2000, offset=0, reblog_info=True, notes_info=True, filter='html')
#print out into a .txt file
with open('out.txt', 'w') as f:
	print >> f, client.posts('staff', limit=2000, offset=0, reblog_info=True, notes_info=True, filter='html')
However, I want the script to continuously print posts until it reaches the end of the specified blog, rather than stopping after the first 20 posts as I see here. I searched the internet and found a very similar question on StackOverflow (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/2168...h-pytumblr. Apparently, it is built into the Tumblr API that only the first 20 posts be returned, but it is possible to work around this by manipulating the "offset" after every yeild. The responder on that thread recommended that the following code be implemented:

def getAllPosts (client, blog):
    offset = 0
    while True:
        posts = client.posts(blog, limit=20, offset=offset)
        if not posts:
            return