Python Forum
Problem installing instaloader
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Problem installing instaloader
Hello everyone! I am completely new at Python (and programming in general), so please bear with me: I don't know most of the terminology and so on. I would like to ask for help because I am getting desperate. I have been trying to install the instaloader package for several days now, but haven't succeeded and I really need it to work by tomorrow morning.

I dowloaded and installed Python 3.8. I tried to install instaloader in a Jupyter Notebook (Anaconda), but it didn't work: "the Python package manager (pip) can only be used from outside of IPython. Please reissue the pip command in a separate terminal or command prompt". (I work with Windows by the way)
So I opened Python 3.8 itself and typed several variations of "pip install instaloader"/"$ pip install instaloader"/"$ pip3 install instaloader" but NOTHING works. I always get this error: "SyntaxError: invalid syntax".

PLEASE help me? I am sorry to disturb you, but I really don't know what to do anymore. I realise that this probably seems ridiculous to those who have been working with Python for a while, but as I said, I am completely new to this. I would be very grateful for any help!
from command line (not from python script):
pip3 install instaloader
@Larz60+
Thank you! It works now!
I have one final connected question. Instaloader also has a Python Module, but it doesn't work when I try to import it in Jupyter Notebooks or in IDLE. Any idea on how I might get this working as well? When I write "import instloader" it responds with: "ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'instaloader'".
Thank you so much for helping me!
Quote:but it doesn't work
That doesn't tell me much, please be more specific
@Larz60+
In Instaloader's Github documentation (https://instaloader.github.io/as-module.html) it says you need to "start with getting an instance of Instaloader" by entering the following code: