Python Forum
Python: Automated Script to Read Multiple Files in Respective Matrices
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Python: Automated Script to Read Multiple Files in Respective Matrices
Hello,

I am a beginner and trying to automate a simple problem. I am reading multiple files one-by-one and saving the data in respective matrices. I would like to make my code short by automating (e.g., by looping).

Would appreciate any suggestions, the files are delimited and named numerically (File_1, File_2, etc.). Here is what I am doing as of now:

file1 = np.loadtxt('File_1.txt', delimiter=',')
    file2 = np.loadtxt('File_2.txt', delimiter=',')

matrix1 = file1[:,:]
    matrix2 = file2[:,:]
Instead of storing the data in regular variables (like matrix1), store them in a list or a dictionary.

You can create the filenames in a loop by range(), but it might be better to use os.listdir() or glob.glob() to get a list of all the files that exist that match what you want.

matrix_data = {}
for file_index in range(1,10):
    filename = f"File_{file_index}.txt"
    file = np.loadtxt(filename, delimiter=',')
    matrix_data[filename] = file[:,:]
# can refer to matrix_data["File_1.txt"] for the data...
Hi Bowlofred:

Thanks, so if I am interested in accessing a particular element is there any clever way? I am doing this:

a = matrix_data["file2.txt"]
print(a[1,1])
If you have several operations on the data, your way is fine. You can temporarily (or in a loop) assign it to a shorter name (like "a" in your example) and then do your work.

But if you just need the element, you can do it in one line instead of two with

print(matrix_data["file2.txt"][1,1])
Thanks. Yes I am doing quite some operations and saving the data in separate variables is what I desire.