Python Forum
Python Coding Help: Calculating Sums
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Python Coding Help: Calculating Sums
Hello,

I am completely new to python and I'm taking a course online that has the following question:

When inputting a number, how can you verify if the digits of that number are divisible by 4?

For example, the input is input = "4007-6000-0000"

I'm having trouble converting this string of numbers to digits so I can add them up and see if they are divisible by 4.

The code I'm trying is the following:
sum = 0
length = len(number)
for i in range(0, length) :
 if number[1] != '-' :
  c += int(number[i])
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Larz60+ write Jan-11-2021, 11:04 PM:
Please post all code, output and errors (it it's entirety) between their respective tags. Refer to BBCode help topic on how to post. Use the "Preview Post" button to make sure the code is presented as you expect before hitting the "Post Reply/Thread" button.
Fixed for you this time. Please use code tags on future posts.
use the modulo operator, see: https://docs.python.org/3/library/operat...-functions
(Jan-11-2021, 11:07 PM)Larz60+ Wrote: use the modulo operator, see: https://docs.python.org/3/library/operat...-functions

Hi Larz60,

Thank you for your response!

I forgot to mention I know how to use the modulo operator.

The issue I'm having is getting the initial sum of the digits in the list of numbers.

I'm unable to get a single number sum from all of the digits.

Is my range correct?

I should be getting that the sum = 17. (4 + 7 + 6).

But I'm unable to get that.

Any suggestions?
Can you iterate over every character in the string?
If it's a digit, can you convert the character to a number?
If it's a digit, can you add its value to a total?

Those would be the different parts of a solution.
If you want to loop through the letters in a string, loop through the letters in a string.
letters = 'abcdefg'
vowels = 0
constantans = 0
for letter in letters: