Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Python Threading
I am a beginner in programming but I was able to develop a tracking program in python. It finds and tracks a T shape in a video and return its coordinates (cX, cY) and Orientation (angle). The code itself is working, however, I want to put it on a loop or thread that gives me an update of the values of those variables (cX, cY, angle). I am supposed to send this information every 30 ms to an Arduino through a port (or any other method, I am not really fussy about how). All I need is to see the variables even if they are saved in 

I know that this is possible with threading but as a beginner, I have never used threading. The more I read about it the more confused I got. everywhere I read it says threading is not for beginners. I tried understanding how it works but I am getting nowhere. 
The code is about 180 lines so instead of copying it all here, I will just put the main function that calls on the different ones used for the detection and tracking. If you need the whole code the please tell me.

def main ():
    loadShape()
    camera = cv2.VideoCapture("IR-Tracking.mov")
    total_start_time = time.time()
    fps_start_time = time.time()
    fps = 0
    total_fps = 0
    while makeIteration(camera):
        time_now = time.time()
        fps = fps + 1
        if time_now - fps_start_time > 1:
           print "FPS:", fps
           fps_start_time = time_now
           fps = 0

seconds = int(time.time() - total_start_time)
    print "Total matches:",total_matches, "in", seconds, "seconds"

if __name__ == '__main__':
    main()
If it helps, I am using python 2.7 and not 3.

Hope anyone can help me. thnax
Why do you need threading? If you can locate the T in less than 30ms and if you don't need millisecond accuracy on the Arduino notification and if the Arduino comms are quick then this is superfluous