Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Python and Accessibility
I wanted to get some reaction to a topic about Python. I am a college professor in the US. I was speaking to a blind student and he brought up an interesting point. Python is not accessible to the blind. The issue is with code blocks (either in conditions or loops). Code blocks in Python in indented, but screen readers do not indicate indentations.

At least in the United States this opens up legal issues concerning the Americans with Disability Act and the US Government 508.

It seem like an “end block” command would address this issue. Has there been any discussions on that?
Isin't it the problem of a screenreader and not Python?
I'm not 'in'-sane. Indeed, I am so far 'out' of sane that you appear a tiny blip on the distant coast of sanity. Bucky Katt, Get Fuzzy

Da Bishop: There's a dead bishop on the landing. I don't know who keeps bringing them in here. ....but society is to blame.
how would a blind programmer deal with something like python?
Adding an end-block to Python seems like a silly way to make the language less elegant and noiser, but I don't see any reason why a screen reader or a Python IDE for the blind couldn't infer where it should be, and insert it, if it's really that valuable.

(Apr-30-2020, 03:06 PM)mbrown36 Wrote: At least in the United States this opens up legal issues concerning the Americans with Disability Act and the US Government 508.
I'm highly skeptical of this, but if it's true we're the wrong ones to talk to about it.
All of the responses here are not compliant with ADA. It is not the job of screen readers to be compliant with Python or IDEs. It is the other way around.

There are many blind programmers and making some compliant is not silly.

There will be people that sue companies that use Python and they will win.

The Python community should address this.
Who is python-forum.io