Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Python and Ubuntu
Hi!

As part of my ongoing quest for a colourful world:
https://python-forum.io/Thread-colouring-strings

it seemed that my problems were due to work on Windows, so I decided to give it a try at Ubuntu, although I always thought that Linux, Ubuntu and the like were for those who already knew how to program.

Well, I managed to install Ubuntu for Windows, and as I'm a completely newbie to Ubuntu, I'm not sure if that means that Ubuntu has all the capabilities, or just the ones provided by Windows and then I'll have the same problems as before ...

I tried to use Python on bash, but while on Windows cmd prompt, python appears like this:
[Image: Python-and-Windows.png]
where it says that my version is Python 3.7.4.

On bash, on the contrary:
[Image: ubuntu-and-python.png]

if I type python, it says 'Command 'python' not found', but that I have 'python3 installed', so I typed python3 and then it said that my version is Python 3.6.7, not Python 3.7.4. So now I have a few questions:

1) Why is that?
2) Shouldn't be the same Python I'm using with Windows?
3) Is it a version pre-installed in Ubuntu?
4) How can I use my Python 3.7.4 and all the little programs that I've made on Windows, now on Ubuntu?

Sorry for bothering you again.
All the best,
newbieAuggie2019

"That's been one of my mantras - focus and simplicity. Simple can be harder than complex: You have to work hard to get your thinking clean to make it simple. But it's worth it in the end because once you get there, you can move mountains."
Steve Jobs
A) Ubuntu is considered the noobs of the linux world. A lot is done for you. It is an easy distro for people from windows because you dont have to do much to maintain it.
B) Most linux distros come with python preinstalled as python runs things in linux (unlike windows)