Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Python program for excel
Hello,
I am new to python and I work on excel everyday which is more of manual. I need to automate some part using python as I am interested in learning it. I need python gurus to help me in coding.
I have data in excel 1 which I need to read and then go to excel 2 find them in excel 2 and get the values in columns.
Below is the example data I have and rules on how to populate data

Read row 1 & column 1 from excel 1, go to excel 2 find AAAAAA and get value from column A and write to column 2 row 1
in excel 1
Always skip middle row if column 1 in excel 1 has more than two entries
Read row 3 & column 1 from excel 1, go to excel 2 find AAAAAA and get value from column B and write to column 2 row 3 in
excel 1
Excel 1 Excel 2
row column 1 column 2 column X column A column B
1 AAAAAA CCCCCC 20 30
2 AAAAAA AAAAAA 40 50
3 AAAAAA BBBBBB 10 30
4 BBBBBB
5 BBBBBB
6 CCCCCC
7 CCCCCC
8 CCCCCC

Result should be like below
Excel 1
row column 1 column2
1 AAAAAA 40
2 AAAAAA
3 AAAAAA 50
4 BBBBBB 10
5 BBBBBB 30
6 CCCCCC 20
7 CCCCCC
8 CCCCCC 30
It's extremely unclear how your data in the 2 files look like and how you get the desired result.
That said we are glad to help but we are not great at writing code for people. Post your attempt to solve this task and ask specific questions. Don't forget to use BBCode tags as appropriate.
If you can't explain it to a six year old, you don't understand it yourself, Albert Einstein
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way: link and another link
Create MCV example
Debug small programs

Let me point you in a general direction. There is a Python library called Pandas. It can read excel files directly, into a structure called a Dataframe. The Dataframe is like a spreadsheet and you have a ton of capabilities in that library to manipulate that dataframe.