Python Forum
Python script Server list - if condition error
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Python script Server list - if condition error
I have below script where I am getting error after executing. Can any help in resolving errors.

#!/usr/bin/env python

import os

servers = os.system("cat /root/pydev/serv")   # =====> /root/pydev/serv has list of servers.

for serv in servers:
 if serv == "server01":
   print(serv)
 else:
   print("No Serv found")
 break
Output error:-
Error:
server01 server02 server03 Traceback (most recent call last): File "./loops.py", line 9, in <module> for serv in servers: TypeError: 'int' object is not iterable
os.system returns the exit code, so this code behaves exactly as one might expect. Why use the os module? Why not just open the file like you would normally in Python?
Thanks for suggestions micseydel. I have updated to code to below and even I am not getting the anticipated output. I am kind of new to python and in learning stage. Can you anyone please advise what changes can be made.

servers = open("/root/pydev/serv", "r")

for serv in servers:
 if serv == "server1":
   print(serv)
 else:
   print("No Serv found")
   break
Output:
(py36-venv)# ./loops.py No Serv found
Anticipated output was - server1
my code is running correctly if I use below. But I want to use the unix/linux command to list the servers and then use the IF condition to perform particular task. In the below code I don't want to input server list which are big list, but I would like to use the command to get the list from file and then apply the IF condition to perform the task. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

servers = ["server1","server2","server3"]
with open("/root/pydev/serv", "r") as servers:
    for serv in servers:
        if serv.strip() == "server1": # or if serv.startswith('server'):
            print(serv)
        else:
            print("No Serv found")
            break