Python Forum
Python version compatibility
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Python version compatibility
I'm new to Python, though I know about 10 other languages. I have a general question about the nature of Python's version inter-operability. I once had the experience of downloading a Python app to try out on my system, on which I had just installed a most-recent version of Python. I was dismayed to find that the downloaded script would not work with my Python. It didn't crash, it just aborted. I supposed then that I would have to install an additional version of Python just for this one script. Instead, I wiped Python off my machine. Now, I'm giving Python another look, but am worried that I might be continually facing version conflicts. So, can experienced folks give me any advice on the issues surrounding downward compatibility and with compatibility involving libraries, plugins, etc? Shorter version of question: Is versioning conflicts with Python a common or uncommon issue to deal with?
I don't have to think about this. I am using Linux and I have both major versions of Python installed by default. All I have to do eventually is to install a module if needed.

When I write a script I use Python 3. Version 2 support stops in two years.

In general, you need the proper version to run the script. It's possible to convert it from 2 to 3 using 2to3 but honestly, I never used it so can't tell how it behaves. But here comes another ... thing. If the script needs a third party module this module have to be ported to the same version too.

Most of the modules out there are ported but still, there are some abandoned projects which need a little push.
Almost everyone prefers to code in Python 3 if there is a choice. The script you have downloaded must have been an old one.
"As they say in Mexico 'dosvidaniya'. That makes two vidaniyas."
https://freedns.afraid.org