Python Forum
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
PythonPath file
I am a beginning python programmer. My computer is running Linux Mint 17.3. I am using IDLE as the development environment. My question is simple. I know how to set a Pythonpath temporarily for a session. I want to include one or two directories in the path permanently. I also understand I can do that by appending the directories to the path file because it is a list. My problem is that I cannot find the file and I have searched with a number of extensions. If someone can tell me where I should start to look I would be very grateful.

Thanks.
PYTHONPATH is an environment variable.  In linux, those are stored in either .bash or .bash_profile or .bashrc in your home directory (/home/your_user_name).  If you're using a file browser, some of them hide files that start with ".", as those are normally "hidden" files.  If you open a console and navigate there ("cd ~"), you can see all files, including hidden ones, with "ls -a".  You can then edit that file using a text editor like nano "nano .bash".

What you add to that file will look similar to the following:

export PYTHONPATH="${PYTHONPATH}:/my/other/path"
Do you want to programatically add these unknown directories to your path, or do you just want to find and add them on your system?
Thanks for the replies. I will look for the file as suggested in the first post. As to second response. I would like to know how to add them programatically but my original question was to modify the file on my system so I could store all my scripts/programs in one place that is not defined with the python install. That is my current goal.

Thanks for the quick response.
OK, I did look through my home directory and looked into all the text files, including hidden ones, and I could not find a file with path contents. Is there a second location where the file may be?