Python Forum
Questions about elements in dict
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Questions about elements in dict
Hi, I am new to Python. I came across the following example:

"Like dicts, set elements generally must be immutable. To have list-like elements, you must convert it to a tuple:"

my_data = [1, 2, 3, 4]
my_set = {tuple(my_data)}
Typing my_set gives: {(1, 2, 3, 4)}

As far as I understand, the elements of a set cannot be changed. Is the goal here to make the elements in the set list-like (changeable) via the tuple function? If so, why my_set[2] still gives an error? I don't quite understand what this example is trying to do nor the quoted statement above the python code. Anybody knows what is happening?
The key here is mutability. Tuples are immutable - they cannot be changed. As such, they are hashable and can be used as elements of a set. Conversely, lists are mutable and cannot be used as set elements.

my_set[2] raises an error because the set has only one element. That element, the tuple, has four elements of its own.
(Feb-08-2020, 03:07 AM)stullis Wrote: The key here is mutability. Tuples are immutable - they cannot be changed. As such, they are hashable and can be used as elements of a set. Conversely, lists are mutable and cannot be used as set elements.

my_set[2] raises an error because the set has only one element. That element, the tuple, has four elements of its own.

Thanks. In this case, how do I access individual element(s) in the tuple which is the only element in the dict? As far as I know, there is no ordering among the elements in a set.
Do you really want the tuple in the set, or do you actually want a set of the individual values?

In any case, you're right, the idea of ordering doesn't make sense for a set (or dict). Ordering has been sacrificed for speed - checking whether an item is in a set can be done in constant time, as opposed to linear time for an unsorted list or tuple.