Python Forum
Separating a string into evenly sized elements in a list
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Separating a string into evenly sized elements in a list
Hey everyone! I'm very new to python, and this is really stumping me.

So let's say I have a list containing every character that someone could type on a keyboard, and for some reason I want to separate them by fours. For example:

chars ="abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyzABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ1234567890 !@#$%^&*()-=[]\;',./_+{}|:<>?"
would become

chars =['abcd', 'efgh', 'ijkl', 'mnop', 'qrst', 'uvwx', 'yzAB', 'CDEF', 'GHIJ', 'KLMN', 'OPQR', 'STUV', 'WXYZ' #etc]
I have tried inserting commas and then splitting the string using .split(','), but the problem is that the .split function also splits where any commas were in the original string of characters. Also, since the string of characters includes all characters (except for fancy ones like Σ, ç, á, etc), I can't use any other symbol in the .split function.

for x in range(4, int(1.25*len(chars)-1), 5): # The fancy math here accounts for the extra characters that were added from the extra commas.
    chars.insert(x, ',')
chars = ''.join(chars)
split = chars.split(',')
print(message)
Is there any easy function or method that lets the user divide strings or group lists into equally sized groups?

Thanks!
Hi! I found this solution online, if you don't mind using an extra module for it:
https://stackoverflow.com/a/21351295
If you do mind it, the answer below one I linked should do.
Thanks for the quick reply!
The solutions on StackOverflow works fine with Sequences, which have a length and index access.
If you've for example a set or some iterable without known length, you can't use len and index access.

In this case, you can use a generator. This example is more advanced and not easy to understand.
So I commented it a little bit. The return statement were added in Python 3.3. Before